Day 36 with a Shaman

 Photo from: Trevorsbirding.com

Raven

Raven is the bringer of Change. It cannot stand to see the world stagnate. When a change must occur, Raven flies swiftly in to evoke it! Although many consider raven a trickster, he is nowhere near the league of Coyote. Raven is the bringer of new things, new places, and new ideas. Raven teaches what is needed at the perfect time. When the world has become complacent, and is ready to move on, it is Raven who swoops in from his journeys to show the world something new, something exciting, something different. He explores, he challenges, and he is the bringer of transformation!

Freya is a shaman Goddess who is able to travel in the different realms by using her magical cloak to shape shift into a bird. She also has the power to transform other people into animals. Freya often had a cloak of feathers that enabled her to fly in the form of a raven. As a fertility Goddess she is linked to the full moon.

When I began working with a Shaman as a healer, I had a dream one night that didn’t feel like a dream at all. I was dreaming that I was sleeping and woke within the dream to a scratching noise. I looked to the left of my bed where the window was. In waking state, it was covered but in this dream it was clear. I saw a huge black face with dark piercing eyes. It was a Raven and it was trying to get in. It wanted to be closer to me. Its stare burned into the deepest parts of me. It knew everything about me and I squirmed at the thought. I wanted to look away but couldn’t.

Then, its eyes changed into human eyes. It was part Raven, part man and it was coming for me. It began opening the window with huge talons, calmly, patiently, and fiercely. Even if it took a life time, he would tenaciously keep coming.  I knew he/it wasn’t going to stop. What I didn’t know was if it was dangerous or just intense. Remembering Edgar Allen Poe, I wanted to run. Did it want to kill me, harm me, or join me? Perhaps it wanted to give me a message? Regardless of the Raven’s intent, I was petrified by its sheer power.

I couldn’t take it. I tried to run, but my limbs were frozen. I tried to cry, but my voice was muffled. I willed myself to awaken from the dream inside my dream. I woke up screaming, fighting, whimpering, and trembling. I was terrified. My partner wrapped his arms around me, rocked me and assured me I was safe. Although I felt protected, I could still feel the presence of the Raven that crossed over into my world forever.

This morning as I was leaving my house, I heard a sound, like someone saying, “Hey over here, pay attention!” It was not quite a human voice but conveyed intelligence beyond any animal. I’ve heard that the voice of a being carries its essence. This essence was familiar and haunting…a ghost from a dream.  I looked up to see two Ravens in the tree above me. They were looking at me, but nonchalantly talking amongst themselves. I watched in awe, feeling honored and blessed. It seemed like they bestowed me with great fortune by just existing within close proximity. I sensed the intimate connection with them, the filament of light reaching from my heart to them and remembered why I am here. Thank you ,Raven.

5 thoughts on “Day 36 with a Shaman

  1. leelotchka44 says:

    Blessing to you for your deep sensitivity and love

  2. Katrina says:

    Very intriguing post, I am blessed with many totems and Raven is one of them, although they come and go as needed, I also have coyote, she also comes and goes often just to keep me laughing,

  3. knaficy says:

    I do like your writing. Thank you.

  4. avantgarde87 says:

    What about crows?? 🙂

  5. starrystez says:

    This post is really interesting. I have a pack of Native American cards and have picked Raven more than once. I love animal and bird symbolism too. I feel inspired now to look into it more.

Leave a Reply

