Day 29 with a Shaman

Photo by Marcela Bolivar

Today, I held a fire ceremony. Fire has been calling to me for a week and finally happened today. I was glad to have confirmation when my Shaman Teacher suggested I was ready to work with fire. I made offerings and they were accepted immediately! I honored each direction with a log. The fire blazed and consumed all of the offerings except the log for Hummingbird.

I tried to place it back in the fire circle three times but it remained to the side. Even in the middle, it would not burn. I asked if this was inviting me to work with the winds of the North and to leave it open.  It was evident this was the case. I was very happy to open up to this spirit even more, accepting anything it wanted to share.

Then, I asked the fire spirit for healing, guidance and assistance with harmony in all areas.

I asked for purity in any relationships that still needed healing. I asked for any seeming betrayals to be forgotten and forgiven in all directions. After that, I remained with the fire and listened. I was guided to cleanse the stones I’d received from the Olympic Mountains. As I placed them on a log and ran them through the flame, one of them jumped into the center of the coals. I assumed it needed some serious purification!

I opened my palms toward the flame and received its warm light to charge my chakras. I also replenished my bands of power. The Bands of Power, are 5 colored bands of light which are organized through intention, from the rainbow fountain of light that encircles our physical body. Each band is connected to an element. With the bands in place we become consciously connected to the earth, the waters, fire, the wind, and pure Spirit.

The intention is set that any heavy unusable energy that comes our way through life will be mulched by the bands and used for food, instead of coming though to us and weighing us down. The Bands of Power leave a space between us and the outside world, and at the same time, they help us to consciously be connected to everything and everyone, ultimately allowing unconscious, fear-based armoring to drop away.

As I sat with the fire, it felt like being with an old friend. We shared stories and responded to one another as each moment unfolded. I could sense the mood and rhythm changing as the bond grew deeper. As my essence solidified, the fire applauded in golden tendrils, like an approving grandfather. We fed each other with our simple passion of existence.

5 thoughts on “Day 29 with a Shaman

  1. Bradlee says:

    Hi! You are a gifted writer! I super enjoy reading your posts! I don’t know anything about shamanism but am working with an energy healer and I find this fascinating. Thank you so much for sharing so beautifully and so openly, I thoroughly enjoy reading it. Bradlee

  2. leelotchka44 says:

    Big smiles to you. I love it when your writing becomes poetry – then your healing becomes my healing too
    gratefully, Leelah

  3. simonet7 says:

    I’ve nominated you for the Very Inspiring Bloggers Award.
    Here’s a link for more info: http://xavia101.wordpress.com/2012/07/31/very-inspiring-blogger-award/

    Good luck.

Leave a Reply

