Day 21 with a Shaman

Photo by: tomaraya1981.deviantart.com

Weakened with overwhelming love pouring into me, I sit silently on the verge of tears and laughter. I am aware of the essence of what we are. As a collective, we are blossoming into that indescribable perfection we grasp in peak experiences.

I look at all the drug and alcohol addictions running rampant through our society. I now see that we are all seeking the same union. That fleeting moment of invincibility after a few glasses of wine that gives you perfect connection with Source…so it seems. You drop your limitations and feel normal for a second. That euphoric bliss that consumes you after taking a toke on the pipe leaves you feeling omnipotent. Rather than seek what we’ve tapped into, we make the substance the savior and give up our freedom, convinced we are finding what we have yearned for.

I admit I have been under the grip of addiction the majority of my life. It has taken different forms but the illusive robber has been ever present. After being told to just ‘go inside’, I remember cringing at the absurd dissatisfaction of the thought. I’d silently rebel, until I’d had enough pain. Then, I’d let go.

The heart is always moving toward greater fulfillment and union. We just get distracted with detours and yet we can always come back to the road to freedom. The ego mind is so clever with seduction, making destruction seem irresistible. It gives us a unique identity, and with that a feeling of false power.  It convinces us we could finally have a sense of belonging.

The more I go inside first, the need for things falls away gently. It leaves me with a feeling of wholeness. The intense yearning softens and the angst subsides. With this knowing, I have to wonder why is it so hard to make the choice to sink inside first, resting in the vastness of God? Seek first the Kingdom of Heaven, meditate, be aware, pray, receive…

3 thoughts on “Day 21 with a Shaman

  1. leelotchka44 says:

    dear student, since I have no mail, please forgive me for asking you here: since you were so kind to nominate me for the Sunshine Award, could you please explain how I find a link to that logo?
    thanks – if you have time 🙂
    Leelah

    • Hi Leelah!
      This is what I was given
      The requirements for accepting the award are:

      1. Include the award logo somewhere in your blog.
      2. Answer these 10 questions, below, for fun if you want to.
      3. Nominate 10 to 12 blogs you enjoy. Or you pick the number.
      4. Pay the love forward: Provide your nominee’s link in your post and comment on their blog to let them know they’ve been included and invited to participate.
      5. Pay the love back with gratitude and a link to the blogger(s) who nominated you.

  2. annisik51 says:

    Thanks for taking an interest in my blog. Ann

Leave a Reply

