Day 16 with a Shaman

 

Ocean air fills my nose like lemon silk with a hint of salted cucumber. Its soothing soft crispness refreshes and rejuvenates. Wind brings a whiff of wild roses, poplar, and elder berries. My mouth waters slightly as a hint of cherries and cinnamon tantalizes my tongue. Sun warms my face and awakens me as it has many mornings shining through my window, beams of light granting me pardon from the chilling wind. They reach me with such purpose, I question my significance.

The golden glow saturates me like sinking into a warm bubble bath with winter storming outside. It engulfs the land and water bringing out their beauty as colors burst all around me. The grass becomes a brilliant array of fluorescent limes, forest green, teal and green hues I’m certain have not yet been named. I can taste the freshly mown sweetness across my tongue, bringing back my childhood in an instant.

The sun pulls my attention to glittery n an organized medley over the water. They are so joyous they appear to take flight, each sparkle taking on a life of its own, competing for my attention. As the sun breathes life into them, they dazzle my eyes with pure delight. Seagulls flying overhead tilt with the wind, barely missing tree branches. The foaming waves slide over rocks like a silk curtain revealing more surface with each passing. Water carries driftwood onto the sand, delivering it from a long journey to rest at last.

As I sit here quietly, waves crash beneath like angry thunder. The water reaches out to shake hands with the sky. My mind begins to wonder about all the mysterious creatures swirling below the tumultuous surface. I sense the absolute stillness they inhabit, permeated with life and yet so serenely still, filling me with peace as I remember another similar moment. I recall the room at the time of my grandfather’s death, full of the most profound peace I have ever felt. It was full and absent at once, leaving a presence comparable to this massive ocean.

An eagle perches nearby like the knight of the air. Its piercing gaze demands allegiance to the creator, every motion deliberate, nothing wasted. It takes flight as its shadow devours the sun overhead. I can hear its wings in on long swoosh as it joins its partner in midflight. I admire the union…a partnership even Fred and Ginger would envy. They glide through the sky with complete effortlessness. Seagulls dive bomb them, bravado their only weapon, protesting the intrusion of their heavenly domain. Their boldness astonishes me. The eagles, however, barely notice as they give me the once over and carry on their flight, leaving me slightly intimidated by their calm natural authority.

I begin to feel a rhythmic pulse beneath me. The ground is hard and cold, but underneath its surface there is a melodic throbbing, a heartbeat I have only known in a dream, bringing back a long forgotten yearning. All of the elements seem to take their places for a mutual orchestration about to commence. The tees groan as they stretch in preparation for the big performance, limbs creaking like an old man rising out of bed. They reach out and grab the wind as they begin their majestic adagio.

The same wind starts as slow violins caressing my heart strings, the waves providing low booms vibrating my bones. Gulls chime in with trumpeting duets. A natural cohesiveness envelops me in a harmony beyond my experience, overwhelming me with a power beyond definition. My inner maestro leaps wildly to attention and begins to direct this masterpiece. I feel as if I have slipped through a portal into the great minds of Amadeus and Bach. In the company of geniuses, I lose myself completely, taking hold of every crescendo as though I am whipping in the wind on the tails of a monster kite. I question, am I dreaming or am I awake?

The tall weeds along the bluff bend and twist in perfect coordination with the strings and trumpets, moving in ecstatic ways I have never before imagined. Such unison and oneness, I silently applaud their uniqueness.

I hear the invitation to feel this alive, everywhere I go. Nature holds a magic that I long for and need to survive. If I ignore it for a while, it welcomes me back like a long lost friend. It’s a comforting companion that challenges me to expand my limits, the example I need in a sea of chaos. It never seems out of reach, patiently awaiting my return…always willing…always accepting. It reminds me of the person I want to be. I wonder how this place, right now, can have such substance.

There is a quote in the movie Cold Mountain, “Sometimes just reading the name of a place near home – Sorell Cove, Fire Scale Ridge – enough to break your heart.”  It shows how much life there is on the planet. The places of solace that it provides can remind us of the Divine, without effort. We just walk away knowing that we have been changed, improved and profoundly moved.

This moment stretches my heart, and shatters what has kept me closed.  This place haunts my essence in the most serene way, existing in the place inside that is pure creativity. It brings me back when I have lost my way. I wish for everyone to be here…right now. Thank you.

3 thoughts on “Day 16 with a Shaman

  1. sweetj2 says:

    WOW!! This post leaves me wordless. Thank you for letting me share in your moment of deep connection!

  2. endysleeps says:

    Love your descriptions. Gift for words.

  3. Perianne says:

    Amazing and to think that is always there if only we would let ourselves in. Stunning!

Leave a Reply

